Never Going To Use Steam Forums Again!

This editorial will probably be the last one before I start publishing reviews again for the time being. I know this is more of a rant than anything else, but since it personally affects me and involves matters that caused me to start blogging in the first place, I think it’s important to write it here on MRN. Due to the Steam moderators being extremely corrupt, rude, and egotistical, I will no longer be using the official Steam discussions although I will still be using game hub forums and Steam feature discussions. The title of this editorial is sort of click-bait so I apologize now.

Anyways, I’m sick and tired of these mods who go after innocent people who try to get them punished for corruption while others like me that don’t show complete obedience to them. We’re not your slaves, you don’t put the food on our tables, and you aren’t executive staff at Valve – you are equal to us. I don’t understand why you assholes have to abuse the authority (not power) given to you simply because other people make fun of you or they hurt your fragile ego. It’s always those that have authority that get the ego thing up their fucking asses.

I almost never see people with power (except for egotistical thin-skinned politicians) abuse it the way those with authority do. They aren’t going to stoop to the level of people that insult and criticize them and exact retribution to boost their egos. They have other more important matters and problems to worry about than a bunch of common folk roasting them. Actually, if such people did abuse the power they would immediately regret it since their reputation has been damaged so they’ll avoid it to save face. But authority figures just don’t seem to care…or do they?

Oh wait, they actually do care about losing face so to prevent that, they’ll delete all the evidence along with punishing those involved to silence them. And even after being exposed, more often than not their higher-ups will just let them get away with it or the punishment they receive will be a slap on the wrist. I noticed all moderators are like that, but for some reason it’s the Steam moderators that are the absolute worst. Only a few mods and admins I met in GameSpot and other sites were extremely corrupt and egotistical about people exposing and insulting them.

Simply put, I’ve made this decision a few days I’ve been banned for the 4th time on Steam for a minor infraction. They would rather go after people like me, but not trolls that constantly violate the community guidelines. If being a moderator is just volunteering, why do they go out of their way to go after people that undermine their authority? Well I already answered my own question so from here on out, I’m just going to post in the alternative forums as mentioned before, or simply finally move on and join Reddit for the first time in my life.

Likewise, all other forum sites aren’t innocent either as they too have their fair share or corrupt and/or egotistical moderators and admins. Back then, I constantly got warnings, bans, then permabans for the stupidest or unfair of reasons. Lots of times the admins permabanned me weren’t even because of trolling! The only forums where I’m still safe from being punished are GameFAQS and Super-Cheats which I don’t even use and haven’t logged on for years. If they aren’t going to do their fucking jobs properly, they may as well restrict or eliminate the forums altogether.

Yes I know, in the rules it specifically states for all forums that mods and admins can modify, transfer, or delete any posts/threads that they feel are inappropriate within their own discretion. But such a rule is extremely vague and basically lets such corrupted lightweights do whatever the hell they want. It’s basically the developers’ or site publishers’ way of giving the users the middle finger, saying “Fuck you guys! This is our site, our rules, and you obey them like you’re our bitches.” There’s essentially no existence of freedom of speech in these forum sites.

Some of you are probably going to tell me that freedoms and rights are bullshit and site creators can decide how they want to run their sites. I agree with that but only to a certain extent, because while there are limits to freedoms if abused, they must still be allowed as the site creators must follow the laws of the countries and/or continents that they operate in. Sorry but if they don’t want to comply with the law, then their website will simply get blocked by the government or the companies will suffer from lawsuits by government agencies to punish them for disobeying.

And Valve has had many incidents of being sued or threatened by such agencies for violating laws time and time again. Like when they refused to issue refunds in Europe even though European Union law states that consumers can refund products whenever they want for whatever reason even if they just don’t feel like it. Or how about when they were threatened by a Washington agency for allowing gambling sites for CSGO to exist and flourish for minors? That wasn’t specifically relevant with corrupted mods but it still applies since nobody is above the law.

To sum it all up, I’m no longer using the official Steam discussions even after my temporary ban expires and only using alternative forums after. I tried appealing to Steam Support but they were just as passive aggressive and useless like before, just like when they offered no solutions to the malfunctioning l4d2 servers. I would often visit Reddit months before I even joined Steam and loved how the way it was structured and allowed people to discuss very controversial topics. I learned through experience is that the grass really is greener on the other side of the fence.

How Can I Improve On This Article?

