Difficulty In Choosing New Games

Sorry for not posting in over a month, but as I’ve said countless times in the past, I am attending university and this year has been off to a…rough start. It doesn’t have anything to do with people I don’t like or courses being too hard, so don’t you people worry as negotiations with the landlord have helped. I wanted to actually post this last month, but because of such circumstances (I promised I won’t reveal much anymore sorry) I’ve refrained from doing so. To make up for that, I’ll be posting several different blog posts this week as I have no lectures…too bad I have to study for mid-terms. 😦

This issue has persisted even in the past when I was still playing on the Wii but it’s even greater now on PC. Whenever I get sick of playing the current game(s), I just want to move on and play new games. Problem is, I don’t really know what to play as I bought over 30 games during the Steam summer sale this year! I’ve tried Counter Strike: Source, the Sonic Adventure remakes, Sonic 4: Episode 2, Garry’s Mod, and even The Sims 3 yet I still keep going back to Left 4 Dead 2. Except for SADX and CSS, all the others I only played for a little bit, couldn’t get immersed, and then stopped playing them.

Well I’m currently playing Sims 3 and just started but haven’t really gotten immersed because it’s a kind of game where I only play it when I’m comfortable. That includes not having outside noise or interference, being relaxed from a good day, and actually being in the mood to play it. Anyways, about the process I usually determine what genre and then the franchises and then I go from there. There are many shooters that I have like CSGO, Borderlands 2, and Mass Effect that I’ll probably enjoy but I’ve been playing too much gun games so that’s why I’m avoiding them for now.

I know that things don’t always go the way you want it and that’s why I didn’t really play the Batman Arkham titles or the Tomb Raider games. I’ve always had this naïve belief that once I’m done with one game, I can magically get immersed and love the next game that I choose, with the cycle repeating happily forever after. But I’m not a child or even a teenager anymore and I have real life responsibilities to do (after all, I don’t want to risk getting kicked out of college for shitty grades). I’ll probably just play the older GTA games – GTA 3, Vice City, and San Andreas – later down the months.

Besides those, there are also many other factors that make it difficult to play newer games. Some games on my Steam wish-list are either too expensive (even during sales) and/or require hardware that is well beyond my budget. I do plan to buy a mid range gaming laptop – either the Acer Aspire VX15 or the Acer Aspire Nitro 5 – however I’m broke because of tuition fees and renting costs. I also kind of want to go back and play my older games and others that I haven’t touched yet on console though sadly I can’t since it would disturb the other tenants that live together with me.

So anyways, how easy or how hard is it for you people to choose new games to play when you guys are done playing current ones? I’m running out of stuff to say but I’ve said what I wanted to say just now. Well, one more thing is that I think the only way I could get fully immersed is if I choose a game that fits the right genre, and when I’m the right mood and environment to be very comfortable. You’ll be updated with the next few blog posts very soon so no need to keep on writing to continue this post. In fact, look out for another one shortly after this one is published. 😉

How Can I Improve On This Article?

