Future Dream PC Specifications

I’ve always wanted to be able to play the games that I want, but because newer games require more powerful hardware that’s not the reality I’m living. While I am glad that my current laptop is roughly thrice as powerful as my previous ultra-book, I’m still not satisfied yet. I can only play games at 900p high settings and get 45-60fps for titles released from 2009-2012; anything newer and I have to play at lower settings and resolution and/or get console quality performance. That’s why I plan to “upgrade” by buying an entirely new laptop meant for gaming in the future.

Current Laptop Specifications:

  • Form Factor: Laptop | Manufacturer: Lenovo
  • Model: Lenovo Ideapad 310-15ABR
  • CPU: AMD A10 9600P 7th Gen @ 2.4 GHZ (4 Cores)
  • APU: AMD Radeon R5 Graphics with 512 MB VRAM
  • OS: Windows 10 Home X64 Bit
  • RAM: 12 GB DDR4 Memory | Storage: 128 GB SSD
  • Display: 1366X768 HD 15.6″ 60HZ LCD
  • DirectX: Version 12 (Software & APU)
  • MSRP: $600 – 800 CAD {as of March 2017}

At first, being the naïve person that I was, I assumed I could just upgrade the CPU and GPU of my current laptop. But laptop parts, except for the RAM and storage, can’t be replaced separately like with desktops and workstations, so I have to spend even more money for an entirely new computer. Even then, I originally intended to get Intel Core i5 CPU that was quad core and had a clock speed of 3.0 GHZ. For the GPU, I thought that an entry level mid range card like the Nvidia GeForce GTX 750Ti was sufficient. I even thought that 1 GB of VRAM was totally enough to play newer games!

Of course, I consulted the Steam forums (feature discussions not the toxic forums) and reality hit me hard in the face. Then I went on Best-Buy, before going to Amazon and then Newegg to search for the perfect gaming laptop. My first year roommate told me that I’d have to spend at least 1000 CAD (800 USD roughly) and he was totally right as even entry level mid range laptops cost that much. When I tried searching for Alienware and Predator, prices typically ranged from 1500 to even 2000 CAD (1300 – 1800 USD)! I definitely needed to do more researching which I did later on.

Proposed Future Laptop Specifications:

  • Form Factor: Laptop | Manufacturer: Acer, Asus, Dell
  • CPU: Intel Core i5 7th Gen @ 2.5 GHZ (2 Cores)
  • GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 960 with 2 GB of VRAM
  • OS: Windows 10 Home X64 Bit
  • RAM: 8 GB DDR4 Memory | Storage: 256 GB SSD
  • Display: 1920X1080 FHD 17.3″ 60HZ LCD
  • DirectX: Version 12 (Software & GPU)
  • MSRP: $800 – $1000 CAD ($600 – $800 USD)

The above specs were essentially comprised of in laptops that were within the budget and gaming wants at the time. However, after again consulting with people on the Steam feature discussions they told me those specs while decent weren’t future proof. In layman terms, it wouldn’t let me be able to play even newer games and I did even more research after that. I discovered that while I can play games from 2013 – 2015 with those above specs at 1080p high settings and 60fps, I still have to lower the settings and/or get shit performance for games from 2016 and beyond.

A friend (no longer, but she’s a stranger) on Steam recommended I get Acer Predator and to look at laptops with similar specs. I then checked it and the price was way too expensive and the hardware was almost close to being high-end. Like do I really need Intel Core i7 or GTX 1060 with 6 GB of VRAM or even 16 GB RAM? I then decided to find a laptop that had specs superior to specs listed above but weaker than overpriced gaming laptops. That way I can be satisfied with both the price and hardware, and not have to worry about having to upgrade again in only a short amount of time.

To my joy and fortune, I managed to actually find the “middle way” by finding a laptop with the ideal specs and it’s around the same price as entry level mid range laptops. I have come to a dilemma and can’t decide whether to get the Acer Aspire VX15 or the Acer Aspire Nitro 5, as there was another Acer gaming laptop that was very cheap in price but sadly got sold out on Amazon for being so awesome. They both have literally the same specs (except for case, fans, battery, etc.) but VX15 is more expensive plus it’s shipped by Canada Computers while latter is cheaper and shipped by Amazon.

Future Gaming Laptop Specifications:

  • Form Factor: Gaming Laptop | Manufacturer: Acer
  • Model: Acer Aspire Nitro 5 or Aspire VX15
  • CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ @ 3.5 GHZ (4 Cores) 7th Gen
  • GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 with 4 GB GDDR5 VRAM
  • OS: Windows 10 Home X64 Bit
  • RAM: 8 GB DDR4 Memory | Storage: 256 GB SSD
  • Display: 1920X1080 FHD 15.6″ 60HZ LCD
  • DirectX: Version 12 (Software & GPU)
  • MSRP: $1000 – $1300 CAD ($800 – $1100 USD)

Well, even if both these laptops get sold out and don’t get restocked on Amazon or other websites, Acer will simply make newer gaming laptops in the future. Or I can always wait when I have the money and the need to play newer games, and then I’ll be able to afford such expensive and beautiful hardware. Now I just have to wait to actually get a job or find a way to make some decent amount of money. Speaking of which, I just installed Radeon ReLive so I’ll be recording game footage shortly so that my dream of being a YouTuber can finally become a reality after all these years!

 

How Can I Improve On This Article?

